River Rambling

It’s that time of year where I tend to look ahead to races and events that are months in the future. Making travel plans, setting aside cash for registration fees, and psyching myself up for long lonely training rides in the dead of winter is actually surprisingly fun, but it also tends to take my focus off of enjoying the present and taking part in the cool stuff happening in my own backyard.

Yesterday instead of hammering out road miles while obsessing over Trans Iowa I joined some folks for a leisurely ride along beaches and through the river bottoms. I doubt we even covered a full thirty miles, but I ended the day exhausted, starving, and smelling a campfire. All in all a pretty successful day on the bike, and it reminded me to be thankful of living in a place where rides like this happen literally every weekend.

IMG_2571

Ken asking if this is a Strava segment.

 

 

IMG_2569

 

IMG_2573

Up to no good

IMG_2579

Refuel

IMG_2582

Deathtacos

Leave a Reply

