Fall River Fat Riding

Last weekend I joined up with Gnat’s River Ramble, a group ride exploring the Minnesota River Bottoms on some fat ass tires. I meant to take some pictures, but I was intimated by the presence of photocyclist powerhouses (I also forgot to charge my camera). For write ups and some banging pictures of that ride, look at:

Gnat’s River Ramble

Riding the Salsa Mukluk

River Ramble

This afternoon I rode the Pugsley to the Sibley House in Mendota, then did some further exploring of the River Bottoms trail. I wanted to make it a bit further south than I was able to last week, so I stuck to the actual trail instead of poking along the beach or crashing through the brush in the wooded areas off of the trail. After motoring to the point where I turned back last week, I crossed the river, and soon was pleasantly surprised when the trail narrowed to sandy singletrack. I lost the trail a few times, but everything was so sandy and messy that it didn’t really matter.

I’m feeling pretty lucky to have this fatbike playground within an easy ride of my house. I plan on riding the Pugsley more or less exclusively for the next few months in order to get ready for the Triple D in January. Having the River Bottoms so close to home should keep me motivated to keep pushing those fat tires until the snow arrives.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “Fall River Fat Riding

Leave a Reply

